Connect with us


Gloucester Rugby name sides for two weekend games



Gloucester Rugby have named their sides for two weekend games against Northampton Saints in the Gallagher Premiership and Exeter Chiefs in the Premiership Rugby Cup.

In the Premiership team, Jack Singleton comes in at hooker, with Santiago Socino dropping to the bench. Either side of him, Val Rapava-Ruskin and Fraser Balmain remain as the props. Freddie Clarke and Matias Alemanno maintain their places in the boiler house.

The back-row of Ruan Ackerman, Ben Morgan and captain Lewis Ludlow, is also the same as it was last weekend.

Stephen Varney makes his first league start of the season at scrum-half and Santiago Carreras starts at fly-half once again.

In the centre, Seb Atkinson makes his Gallagher Premiership debut for the Cherry & Whites. He’s partnered with Scotland international Chris Harris.

In the back three, Jonny May returns on the wing after being away for England in the Autumn. Louis Rees-Zammit and Lloyd Evans complete the team.

Santiago Socino switches out of the starting XV for Singleton. Harry Elrington, Ciaran Knight, Cam Jordan and Jake Polledri all keep their places among the replacements from last Friday’s clash with Quins.

Charlie Chapman and Billy Twelvetrees also both started on Friday, they cover the backs on the bench alongside Alex Hearle.

Team News v Saints

15. Lloyd Evans*

14. Louis Rees-Zammit*

13. Chris Harris

12. Seb Atkinson (GP debut for Gloucester Rugby)

11. Jonny May*

10. Santiago Carreras

9. Stephen Varney*


1. Val Rapava-Ruskin

2. Jack Singleton

3. Fraser Balmain

4. Freddie Clarke*

5. Matias Alemanno

6. Ruan Ackermann

7. Lewis Ludlow* (C)

8. Ben Morgan


16. Santiago Socino

17. Harry Elrington

18. Ciaran Knight*

19. Cam Jordan*

20. Jake Polledri*

21. Charlie Chapman*

22. Billy Twelvetrees

23. Alex Hearle

*Denotes academy graduate.


In the Premiership Cup on Sunday, Seville and Seb Blake start alongside experienced Kirill Gotovtsev in the front-row with Andrew Davidson and Arthur Clark behind them in the second-row.

In the back-row, Freddie Thomas starts on the blind-side with Jack Clement on the open side. Clement is our ambassador for the RPA’s Restart Round this week, you can read more about that here.

Jack Bartlett starts at number 8.

Scrum-half Ben Meehan has been given the captaincy for the game. Defence coach Dom Waldouck has been impressed with the Aussie’s leadership this week.

He said: “He’s a player that leads by example with his performance and he’s spoken really well so we’re excited to see him lead this week.”

He’s one of four players in the back line that have had Gallagher Premiership minutes this season, along with fly-half George Barton, centre Jack Reeves and wing Jake Morris.

Morgan Adderly-Jones partners Reeves in the centre.

Alex Morgan returns from injury to start on the wing, and Josh Hathaway starts at full back.

Finn Theobald-Thomas is set to make his first appearance off the bench the Cherry & Whites after signing from Worcester. He is joined by; Archie McArthur, Bryan O’Connor, Danny Eite, Rob Nixon, Matty Jones, Morgan Adderly-Jones and Kyle Moyle on the bench.

Team News v Exeter

15. Josh Hathaway*

14. Alex Morgan*

13. Jack Reeves*

12. Morgan Adderly-Jones*

11. Jake Morris*

10. George Barton*

9. Ben Meehan (C)


1. Alex Seville*

2. Seb Blake*

3. Kirill Gotovtsev

4. Andrew Davidson

5. Arthur Clark*

6. Freddie Thomas*

7. Jack Clement*

8. Jack Bartlett*


16. Finn Theobald-Thomas*

17. Archie McArthur*

18. Bryan O’Connor*

19. Danny Eite*

20. Rob Nixon*

21. Matty Jones*

22. Tom Riman*

23. Kyle Moyle

*Denotes academy player or graduate

Content & Images from – Gloucester Rugby





Sale Sharks have agreed a deal to sign Fiji captain Waisea Nayacalevu from French Top14 side Toulon. 

The explosive centre, who starred for his country during the recent World Cup, has signed a one-year contract with an option for a further year. 

He will join up with Alex Sanderson’s Sharks squad ahead of the start of the 2024/25 Gallagher Premiership season. 

Waisea, 33, said: “I’ve watched the Premiership for a long time and it’s always been in the back of my mind that I would love to play there one day and experience rugby in England. 

“Now that opportunity has arrived and I’m really, really happy and grateful. I’m so excited to get over there and join the boys and see how I can contribute to the team. 

“I have spoken to Telusa Veainu and he only has positive things to say about the club and about Manchester. 

“I’m looking forward to playing with some of the guys I’ve played against, like Tom Curry and George Ford. But I also know there are a lot of really talented young players in the Sale Sharks squad and I’m excited to share my experience and help them develop as much as I can.  

“I told Alex that it’s what I’ve been doing for the last few years of my career and it’s something I’m passionate about.” 

Nayacalevu, who stands at 6’4” and weighs in at 16st 7lb, spent ten years at Top14 side Stade Français before making the switch to Toulon in 2022.  

He has won 34 caps for Fiji, slotting in at both centre and on the wing, and captained his country at last year’s World Cup, where the Pacific Islanders made the quarter-finals, losing 30-24 to England in Marseille. 

He also famously scored for Fiji in their memorable pre-World Cup win against England at Twickenham. 

Images & Content from Sale Sharks Rugby

Continue Reading


Falcons star to join Saracens



Phil Brantingham to join Saracens

Tuesday 05 March 2024 Written by: Tom Grisedale

Prop-forward Phil Brantingham will leave Newcastle Falcons in the summer to join Saracens.

The 22-year-old has played 25 games for his home town club, and leaves with the thanks and best wishes of everyone at the Falcons.

Chairman of rugby Matt Thompson said: “Phil has done well for us and we made him a good offer to stay here.

“We respect his decision and wish him all the best for his move in the summer, but between now and then he will be fully committed to finishing the season strongly for Newcastle Falcons.”

Source – Newcastle Falcons Rugby

Continue Reading





Sale Sharks can confirm that forward Cobus Wiese will leave the club at the end of the season to return to South Africa. 

The 26-year-old lock has played almost 80 games for the club and scored five tries since joining from the DHL Stormers ahead of the 2020/21 season. 

He played a key role last year as Sale reached the Premiership final, and this season he has featured a further 13 times for Alex Sanderson’s side. 

Alex said: “Cobus will be missed by all of us on so many levels. He’s the most polite and courteous of people off the field, but the most wildly excitable man on the field, and on a night out. 

“To say Cobus wears his heart on his sleeve is to do him a disservice with regards to his emotional commitment for which his body has paid the price on occasion.  

“He leads by example and has earnt the respect and adoration of the group both on a professional and a personal level. We wish him every success and happiness with his move back home.” 

Everyone at Sale Sharks would like to thank Cobus for his contribution to the club and the team during his time here and we wish him all the very best for the future.  

Images & Content from Sale Sharks Rugby

Continue Reading